eTA For Canada – How To Process eTA

What is an eTA and Who Needs It?

eTA For Canada is available to citizens of certain country who only need a Canada visa and an electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) to visit Canada.

If you’re wondering, “What is an eTA and do I need one?” keep reading to learn everything about Canada eTA.

eTA for Canada

For foreign people from visa-exempt countries who wish to come to Canada, the electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) is a regular requirement. Your passport is electronically connected to your eTA.

You will be permitted to stay in Canada for up to six months at a time and enter the country on several occasions. Your eTA, on the other hand, is good for five years or until your passport expires. Whichever scenario happens first determines your legitimacy.

If your passport is the first to expire, you can apply for a new eTA. Your eTA will be electronically connected to your new passport if it is authorized.

Please keep in mind that simply possessing an eTA does not guarantee that you will be admitted to Canada. This will be at the discretion of the border officer.

Also See: How To Write An Immigration Reference Letter

Who Can Apply For The eTA?

The following is a list of countries that require an eTA:

Countries That Require eTA

Andorra Australia Austria
Bahamas Barbados Belgium
Anguilla Bermuda British Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Gibraltar
Montserrat Pitcairn Island Saint Helena
Turks and Caicos Islands Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria
Chile Croatia Cyprus
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
Finland France Germany
Greece Hong Kong Hungary
Iceland Ireland Israel
Italy Japan Republic of Korea
Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania
Luxembourg Malta Mexico
Monaco Netherlands New Zealand
Norway Papua New Guinea Poland
Portugal Romania Samoa
San Marino Singapore Slovakia
Slovenia Solomon Islands Spain
Sweden Switzerland Taiwan
United Arab Emirates United States Vatican City State

Recommended: How To Immigrate To Canada Without IELT

How Do I Apply for an eTA?

The answer is simple, online. This not only makes it convenient but a very simple process too. Should you need assistance with your eTA application, there is a document available that will deem very helpful to you. It’s also available in several languages, making it understandable to most.

What papers am I required to submit with my eTA application?

  1. Valid passport from a visa-exempt country;
  2. Credit or debit card.
  3. Valid email address

Also Read: How To Immigrate To Canada As A Refugee

Tips For Applying For eTA

  1. Note that one eTA application is for one individual, thus a family will need to fill out one application for each family member.
  2. You must finish your eTA application in one sitting once you begin it. This is due to the fact that it is a time-sensitive application that must be completed within the specified time range. However, you can ask for more time during your application session. Simply click the ‘continue session’ option to do so.
  3. You should receive your authorized eTA status through email once you’ve completed the process and if it was successful. Your eTA number will be included in the email. It should only take a few minutes.
  4. Please keep in mind that you may be required to submit more documents before receiving an eTA approval. If this is the case, you will be contacted within 72 hours of submitting your eTA application with instructions.
  5. As a result, it’s preferable to apply for your eTA first and then book your flights.
  6. Verify that the passport number in your passport matches the passport number on the email. Because the eTA is electronically linked to your passport.

Also Read: How To Avoid Canadian Visa Rejection

Options To Travel to Canada As A Foreigner

Working Holiday Visa

The Working Holiday Visa (WHV) is a fantastic way to travel around Canada and make money at the same time! Not only that, but you’ll gain valuable Canadian work experience as well as the opportunity to improve or learn new skills.

Requirements for the WHV

To be eligible for WHV, you must have the following:

  1. Valid passport;
  2. Be a part of the 35 participating countries;
  3. $2,500 to cover initial expenses;
  4. Health insurance;
  5. Police clearance certificate;
  6. Round-trip ticket or sufficient funds to cover one; and
  7. No dependents.

Nations Participating in the Working Holiday Visa?

A list of all the nations that participate in the Working Holiday Visa program may be seen below:

Countries in the International Experience Canada (IEC) Program

Australia Austria Belgium
Chile Costa Rica Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
France Germany Greece
Hong Kong Ireland Italy
Japan Korea, Rep. Latvia
Lithuania Luxembourg Mexico
Netherlands New Zealand Norway
Poland Portugal San Marino
Slovakia Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland Taiwan
Ukraine United Kingdom

You may want to learn more about Canadian Experience Class

FAQ  On eTA For Canada

Can I live in Canada with eTA?

You can only stay in Canada for six months at a time; if you want to stay permanently, you must apply for the right visa. You may want to learn about Canadian Citizenship Test

What happens if you remain longer than six months in Canada?

You risk losing your travel authorization and being unable to use your eTA in the future. This is why, if you need to stay longer in Canada as a visitor, it’s critical to extend your eTA.

So, now that you know the answer to the question “What is an eTA and?  you can begin the application process to immigrate to Canada

In order not to miss out on prompt updates from, enter your email address below and hit the subscribe button beneath.

A confirmation link will be sent to your inbox or check your spam mails if its not in your inbox. Make sure you click the link to confirm your subscription in order not to miss any updates from this blog. All comments (related to the post above) should be dropped via the comment section below.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Translate »